Coaches‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Coaches Honored at the UDCA Spring Banquet

posted May 17, 2016, 8:28 AM by Moses Baca

2016 UDCA Banquet

The Utah Debate Coaches Association held its annual Spring Banquet on May 16th, honoring coaches for their achievements over the past year and in some cases, for a career of service spanning decades.

The UDCA inducted four coaches into the Utah Debate Coaches Hall of Fame. Inductees included Laren Swensen who coached at Juab High School, Scott Mansfield who coached at Lehi High School and Westlake High School, Carol Shackelford who coached at Bingham High School, and Dave Smith who coached most recently at Highland High School.

Alli Martin was awarded a lifetime achievement award for her service while coaching at Alta High School and most recently Jordan High School. Martin currently serves as the co-host for the 2016 National Speech and Debate Association Tournament to be held in Salt Lake City.

Bonnie Gailey was also awarded a lifetime achievement award for her service coaching in Utah. Gailey’s coached most recently at Hunter High School, and concludes 37 years of teaching.

Additional honorees included Michelle Smith of Viewmont High School for Coach of the Year in the 5A classification. Sharon Ellsworth-Nielson of Park City High School was awarded most improved coach in the 3A classification and Phil Clark of Lehi High School was awarded for the most improved coach in the 5A classification. Brooke Gregg was recognized with the award for Ambassador for Debate.